Host Kelly Clarkson

The 2018 Billboard Music Awards were held last night at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

This year’s ceremony, hosted live by Kelly Clarkson, saw your favourite artists and groups honoured for their contribution to the top music charts this year. 

The nominees were announced in April, with rapper Kendrick Lamar, Bruno Mars, and Ed Sheeran leading the pack with an astounding 15 nods each, followed by Post Malone with 13, Imagine Dragons with 11, Drake with 9 nominations as well as Justin Bieber and fan favourite Cardi B each coming in with 8. 


Taylor Swift took home ‘Top Female Artist’ and ‘Top Selling Artist’ for her album reputation joined by Ed Sheehan as ‘Top Male Artist’. Sheeran also received ‘Top Artist’ alongside four additional honours. ‘Top New Artist’ went to 20 year old American singer Khalid, who also performed last night. Lamar and Cardi B both took home the prize for ‘Top Rap Male’ and ‘Top Rap Female’ respectively, with Lamar also sweeping up awards for ‘Top Rap Album’, ‘Top Rap Artist’, ‘Top Streaming Songs Artist’, ‘Top Billboard 200 Album’, and ‘Top Streaming Song (Audio)’.

Imagine Dragons

The late Swedish EDM artist Avicii was nominated for ‘Top Dance/Electronic Album’ days before his death, however the award went to The Chainsmokers with their album Memories…Do Not Open. Imagine Dragons had a great night, winning the prize for ‘Top Rock Artist’, ‘Top Rock Album’ and ‘Top Rock Song’ as well as ‘Top Duo/Group’. The event also highlighted winners in categories such as ‘Top Gospel Album’ and ‘Top Country Album’, with Disney’s hit film Moana winning for ‘Top Soundtrack’. 

Salt-N-Pepa and En Vogue

The night saw show-stopping performances, throughout the ceremony, by Dua Lipa, Jennifer Lopez, Camila Cabello and Pharrell as well as host, Kelly Clarkson, among many others. Salt-N-Pepa, featuring the ladies of En Vogue, gave a crowd pleasing 90’s throwback performance celebrating the 30th anniversary of becoming the first female rap artists to hit the top 40 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Icon Award recipient Janet Jackson

The real star of the night however was Janet Jackson, Miss Jackson if you’re nasty, who was honoured with the coveted Icon Award after delivering her first TV performance in nine years. Jackson did not disappoint, performing a riveting compilation of her greatest hits with two new additions to her team. 

Dancers Phillip Galbert of New Britain, Connecticut and La’Vala “Lala” Moss of Birmingham, Alabama had already received the news that they’d been chosen out of 75,000 hopefuls as winners of the star’s global #DanceWithJanet competition. They then learned, from the superstar herself, that they would be taking the stage to perform with her at this year’s Billboard Awards. Janet now joins the club of previous Icon recipients along with Neil Diamond, Stevie Wonder, Prince, Jennifer Lopez, Celine Dion and Cher.

Check out your favourite Spectrum FM Facebook page to see a complete list of this year’s winners and we’ll see you next year at the Billboard Awards!

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.